Home

One morning I checked my Facebook account and was greeted by the following message.

blog-2014-041-02

Find friends? That meant going outside where people lived. The stress levels started to rise. No, I would stay were I was and clean my place instead. One look at the disorganized clutter in my kitchen dissuaded me from choosing that option. It was time to venture out into the non-electronical world of physical stuff.

At the front counter of the coffee shop I was greeted by the barista. “How are you today?” she asked.

“Hungry.” That was my answer, because that was how I felt.

“Hungry for food or hungry for knowledge?” She was the inquiring type.

“Food,” I answered. “There comes a point, especially at my age, where you feel you have already learned enough.”

The overhead menu listed several specialty sandwiches. I looked for some indication of what made them so special but my bifocals were being uncooperative and I couldn’t quite focus on the words. “Tell me about your sandwiches.” It looked like I was going to learn something new after all.

The woman behind the counter explained. “Our meats are chicken, beef or ham. Our breads are flat bread, rye, ciabatta…”

I interrupted her. “Stop, that all sounds like mumble, jumble to me. Different types of bread were one of those things I never learned before deciding to stop learning new things,” I explained.

Now I was in a bind. With no knowledge of specialty sandwiches or the ingredients that make them different then a normal sandwich, I felt like a fish out of water. A hungry fish. I stood there still staring up at the menu board that I couldn’t bring into focus, on the verge of a panic attack, sinking deeper into an episode of social awkwardness, about to drown.

The barista tossed me a lifeline. ” My favorite is chicken and cheddar on a ciabatta bun, with lettuce, tomato and a pile of red onion whacked on top.”

“I’ll take it!” I said with no hesitation. A drowning man will grab at anything.

“Grilled,” she asked?

“Yes!”  A wave of relief washed over as the pressure pushing me down lifted from my spirit. I just might survive this trip out into the real world after all; at least I wouldn’t starve.

“Have a seat,” she instructed. “I’ll bring you your Jenn sandwich as soon as it’s ready.”  Not long after she laid this on the table in front of me.

blog-2014-041-03

I took my first bite of the toasted sandwich. The crunchiness drowned out the incessant noise of life assailing my ears. I closed my eyes as I slowly chewed. Taste, now my dominate sense explained my world. I was floating in a sea of flavors combining in bold, new taste explosions. I was enjoying this new found experience and extremely pleased it had been brought to my knowledge. Maybe I was too quick to stop learning new and tasty things.

I’m glad I took Facebook’s advice that day and went out and found a new friend; the Jenn Sandwich, grilled.

(Oh, and Jenn the Barista, she’s cool too!)

2 thoughts on “The Jenn

  1. I first read this on an empty stomach and your prose were too portent for me and I had to go eat something. I came back later and reread and I have to say I really admire taking a seemingly small subject and elevating it to much more, perhaps even symbolic for something else! Also, it’s really funny that Facebook has the audacity to insist you make new friends.

Leave a Reply

