Home

blog-2014-040-01blog-2014-999-01

blog-2014-996-01

On Sunday’s I like to take a break from writing anything new. My intention is to take this day and repost some of my older blogs for newer readers. But a simple rewrite can improve things. Here is today’s Sunday Rewrite.

The reworking of part three of my Living the Dream Trilogy

LIVING THE DREAM

PART THREE OF THREE (Part One is Here)(Part Two is Here)

QUELLING THE DREAM

blog-2014-040-02I’ve concluded the time had come to quell my dream.  (No, I don’t mean the dream about Anne Hathaway… I am not ready to give up that one, just yet.) I mean the fire extinguisher dream. Sometimes you have to let go and move on.

It was the day after I had stormed out of management’s office with the fishbowl’s fire extinguisher that was in need of recharging. For those of you joining this tale already in progress, the “fishbowl” was what we called the small gas bar were I was employed in my younger days.  Up to that point in my life I had never used a fire extinguisher and always imagined what it would be like to spray the chemical powder in the event of an emergency. Working there alone at night, the battle was to resist the temptation to make my dream reality, to grab the fire extinguisher sitting in the corner and spray the parking lot. My conscience would not allow me to go through with such actions without having an actual emergency occurring, and those were few and far between. One night I noticed the fire extinguisher was losing its charge and took the extreme action of surrendering to my lust, My reasoning was a safety concern, without its proper charge the safety device could prove ineffectual in an emergency setting. By discharging the fire extinguisher that night it would force management into action and get the old extinguisher replaced. So that night I fulfilled my dream, to a point. Yes, I had used the extinguisher, but with it was not on an actual fire it felt anti-climactic and somewhat of a let down. Larry, the sales manager, also in charge of the gas bar, refused to take me seriously when I demanded to have the big red fire extinguisher recharged. I marched out of the office I warning, “We may not be so lucky the next time!”

I spent the following day pumping gas, checking oil, giving directions and looking busy whenever I noticed one of the office staff glancing out the window. It was the last hour of my shift and I sat at the desk to totalling up my shift reports for that day. I had my head down, trying to figure out why my report showed I missing 265 dollars in cash. I concludes that math has too many variables. The screeching of braking tires coming to a sudden stop interrupted my mathematics. I looked up to see a large car had come to a stopped in the parking lot. Two large, serious-looking men jumped out and headed in my direction, wasting little time. The first man had a very small fire extinguisher in his hands, the kind you’d keep in your kitchen under the sink. He broke into a run. The guy behind him pointed beyond me and shouted, “Get a fire extinguisher!”

I spun around in my to see, a mere ten feet from the gas shack with its collection of old, defective and leaky pumps, an actual emergency. Stopped in the middle of the road was a car,  thick, black smoke billowed out from under the hood and a flaming patch of oil burned on the pavement underneath,

My eyes widened with excitement. I was just what I was longing for! The real emergency! My dream was coming true just the way I imagined it. A smile appeared on my face in the midst of the panic and confusion happening around me. I one fluid motion I leapt from my seat, sweeping up the large fire extinguisher in one hand and swirled through the door. I was pulling at the safety pin as I turned the corner of the gas shack, but my fingers were unable to find it. I glanced down and realized it was already gone from several nights before.

The two men that first alerted me to the burning car were using the small extinguisher to spray under the hood coating the engine with the flame smothering white powder. The panic-stricken driver still sat behind the wheel shaking his head in disbelief. I ran around to the back of the car where the blazing patches of spilled oil burned.

I was almost delirious with joy; expectation. My dream coming true after so many years of longing! At last I was finally going to use a fire extinguisher in a real emergency! I pointed the hose at the flaming oil, and firmly squeezed the handle to trigger the foam.

The fire extinguisher coughed.

Then sighed.

And died.

The stupid thing wouldn’t work.

It was empty.

I decided it was time to dream of something new.

Maybe something with bubbles.

blog-2014-040-03

3 thoughts on “QUELLING THE DREAM

  1. Pingback: PUSHING THE DREAM | The Convolutd Menagerie

  2. Pingback: Blowing the Dream | The Convolutd Menagerie

Leave a Reply

