Home

blog-2014-043-01ablog-2014-999-01

Back in the late 80’s I was with a couple of buddies hanging out at McDonalds. One of my friends was crushing on a girl that was working there at the time. He had let all of us place our orders first so he could hang around the cash register a while longer and chat with her. (Remember this was long before texting, so if you wanted to get to know someone you actually had to talk to them.)

The rest of us were hungry and the thought of waiting for him to rejoin us never entered our minds. Food was meant to be eaten. I had just finished assembling my McDLT.

(Anyone remember McDLT’s? Keeps the hot, hot and the cold, cold?)

George seemed to be pretty excited about them back in the day. Check it out.

Blog 2014 043 02I was halfway through my meal when my love struck friend rejoined us with a grin on his face and a look in his eye that seemed to indicate he no idea any of us were there, nor did he care. His mind was someplace else with beating hearts, pretty smiles, and a voice like honey. He reached for his drink and took a sip through the straw.

Suddenly he came crashing back to reality and slammed the paper cup back down on his tray, sputtering. We all stopped eating to look up. His face grimaced. A sound of disgust issued forth within. Mumbling and grumbling he finally spit out, “root beer! I hate root beer!”

“Did she get your drink wrong,” I asked? “Bring it back. Get her to change it.”

He shook his head with a look of sadness. “I can’t.”

“Why not?”

“I ordered it.”

“I don’t understand. If you hate root beer so much why did you order it?”

My friend looked at us and slowly shook his head. “She asked me what I wanted to drink, and I didn’t know what to say!” I can believe this, he was often left speechless when a pretty girl spoke to him. “While I was trying to remember how to say Coca Cola she suggested root beer. She’s so gorgeous I couldn’t say no. Now I a stuck with root beer! Arggg!”

We made fun of him as he went thirsty the remainder of the night.

I thought to myself, how silly can someone get over a pretty girl. You’d never catch me acting that foolish! No way!

Never.

Not long after that event I foolishly became the owner of a bright pair of red canvas sneaker boots that I had no idea I was ever going to buy.

That story is coming in part two.

3 thoughts on “Women Who Make Us Foolish (Part I)

  1. I remember McDLT very clearly. Boy, did Jason change. How do you post video clips here anyhow? Anyhow….your post served to make me miss the 80’s. I thought pre-text era was so much more fun. But that’s just me, I guess. Looking forward to part two.

    • I miss the 80’s, That was such a fun decade for me.

      As for adding you tube… it took me an hour to get it working. So listen carefully. I’m going to try to do this from memory. First, have breakfast! You don’t want to be doing this on a rumbly tummy. Then open up the page you want to post the video on in edit mode. click on ‘add media’ from the edit menu. To the left there should be an option to add you tube video, click it, search for your video, when you find it click on the lower part of the video till a big check mark appears. Then click add video. Tadaa! (If it was only that simple.) But this is where it gets tricky. From your edit page click preview post, if it works like you wish the video will be embedded in your page. But more then likely you’ll just see a link. If it’s just a link, return to your edit page and add this in front of your url link. Now preview again, and if it works… shower me with thanks and gifts. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Women Who Make Us Foolish(Part II) | The Convolutd Menagerie

Leave a Reply

