Home

As a man, I am learning when questioned by a woman, the right answer is not always the correct answer.”-Brad

Would Watson know?

While working this past Saturday I received a phone call from one of my co-workers. “Brad!” There was excitement in her voice when she asked, “Whats the value of fifty naira?”

Now it flatters me to think that my co-workers consider me such a fount of knowledge but there are some questions I just can’t answer off the top of my head.

I am not WATSON.

“I would like the category, ‘Sir Planting, the Human Bean’ for $2000, Alex.”

“What is a naira?” I asked back over the phone.

“It’s money from Nigeria,” she told me excitedly. A family member returning from overseas had given her several bills of large denominations from that African nation as souvenirs. From the excitement in her voice I assumed she was planning a trip to the mall or getting ready to peruse the local buy and sell on the book of faces, eager to make use of her recent windfall.

I wondered how to break the bad news to her without crushing her happiness. Work always goes much better for me when my co-workers are happy. “It’s probably not worth very much,” I said carefully. “If Nigerian money was valuable I wouldn’t receive so many e-mails from Nigerian widows asking for  mine.”

Undaunted in her belief that she held a fortune in her hands she refused to listen to me. “I thought you would know what it is worth, it could still be worth a lot.”

Over the phone, recalling skills I have not practice since working for a stint in a call centre, I directed her to Google, the fount of knowledge I use when I need to find out things. I had her locate a currency exchange calculator and punch in 50. I could hear the excitement rise in her voice again when the answer popped up, 32!

I knew in her head she was already figuring out her list of 32 items she was going to pick up at the dollar store with her 50 naira. “No, No!” I stopped her then shattered her dream to pieces when I explained, “That’s not 32 dollars, that’s 32 cents.”

“No,” she refused to accept. “Let me do that again.” The answer didn’t change, 32.”

Sadness filled the phone.

She didn’t get to go shopping with her Nigerian money that day, but I ended up with something out of it; knowledge. Now if anyone wants to know the value of 50 Nigerian nairas you can call me up and I can give you the answer right off the top of my head.

Watch out WATSON! I got my eye on you.

One thought on “Thought 109: Catching up to Watson

  1. ” I’m Mrs.Thomas wife of late Mr.Thomas Governor, Bank of East Nigeria” lol … get plenty of such mails too.. fraudsters..

    My heartfelt sympathies to the lady who just learnt she wouldn’t get even a toffee in exchange for Nairas..poor her.

Leave a Reply

