Home

I think the hardest part about swimming, is the actual getting in the water.

Second Falls: A story of Adventure in Four Parts: The Hard Part

When you emerge from the trail that leads to Second Falls you find yourself standing on the top of a smooth sloping rock. For you to enter the water you will have to descend this slope first. From there, your entry into the waters will depend on your personality.

=2nd Falls=

If you are a cautious person, you will slowly inch your way down the slope, stick your little toe in the water, debate in your mind if the temperature is cold or freezing, then carefully ease yourself into the liquid careful not to splash any water on your sensitive skin and pray to God above that there exists no such thing as flesh-eating trout. (Apparently, flesh-eating trout do exist, so you amend your prayer to pray they do not exist here.)

For you daredevils, your approach starts at the top of the rock. You get a good running start down the inclined plane. Just before you reach the water’s surface you lunge out into the air. Now, if you are like most people I know, you won’t remain in the air for long, but soon be engulfed by the waters below. A word of warning about lunging: always lunge out as far as possible. Just because the slope descends to the water’s surface doesn’t mean it ends there. Oh no, no, no! The slope continues on out under the surface. I can attest from personal experience that a defective lunge can result in a defective body. (Well at least a sore bum.) The most dangerous aspect of this type of entry is that as the daredevil strikes the water, the sudden transition from air that is hot to water that is not can put them into a state of shock, causing them to forget to return to the surface.

There is even a way for the show-off to enter. First, the rock must be wet. By splashing water on it you create a surface so slippery not even crazy glue would adhere to it. Once this state of slipperiness is achieved you stand on both feet (one, if you are an expert show-off ), assume the surfer pose and skillfully manoeuvre yourself down the slope into the water.  Some people believe in sliding down on their rare-ends, but I’d advise against this. Things could end up embarrassing as you end up with the nickname, Moony.

Finally, for the those of you who don’t want to go swimming, there is even a way for you to make an entrance too. Allow me to use a personal experience to demonstrate how this is achieved. One day I was standing at one end of the slope (point A). I decided I would walk to point B (the other end of the slope some thirty feet away.) I started on my journey fully clothed, sneakers, socks, jeans, the works. Reaching the mid-way point, for some strange reason, possibly too deep of a breath of oxygen, my body became involved in a battle between gravity and dry shorts. Gravity won and I had to trudge home with soggy shorts and extensive chaffing.

What kind of personality are you when it comes to getting in the water?

Next I’ll share one of the favourite activities to partake in once you have made your entry.

Till then, keep warm.

13 thoughts on “Thought 125: The Hard Part

    • When your water is frozen solid up to five months a year you learn to enjoy it when you can. I have a question for you as a hydrophobic. Is a glass of water filled to 50%, half-scary?

  1. I don’t think I have enough coordination to get into the water safely with on that slope. I have a feeling that if I tried to get in slowly (my preferred entry) I would just end up falling in. Also, I’m not a very good swimmer, so I like “swimming” in places where I can just kinda hang out in the water and relax.

    • There are places where you can do that as well in other parts of the brook, but those are the spots you have to share with grand-parents with lawn chairs, todlers in waterwings, and teenagers with over protective parents who won’t let them play on inclined planes.

  2. ha, ha, ha, ha (I’m refraining from the ubiquitous ‘lol’ because I use it too much…)

    It’s so fun to see myself in some of the things you post. I’ve been the toe in the water type, but now I know better – if I don’t get right in, I’m not gettin’ in.

    A friend of mine and I went to a swimming hole one extremely hot day in late April or early May, thinking the glacially fed water would have warmed up by then. You never saw two people jump in and nearly as literally as possible jump out again (it was deep so we had no foothold to be able to jump back out).

    Thank you so much for your great stories and posts!

    • Finally, someone not afraid to take the plunge. It must be nice to live in a place where you can at least attempt to try swimming in April. Some years we still have ice in May. Thanks for enjoying my stories and feel free to lol all you want.

  3. I am also in favour of the “plunge” method. There’s no other way to get into a cold body of water.

    I could go for a nice swim right about now. Pity it’s winter.

Leave a Reply

