Home

I am free to think free stuff is a hassle.

A friend of mine recently discovered a site on the Book of Faces that sends out free samples for a multitude of products; everything from chocolates, candies, food, and pens to stationary, shampoos and feminine hygiene products. “You should try it, Brad!” She urged excitedly. (I hopes she wasn’t referring to the feminine hygiene products.)  Now shopping online is the last thing I want to be doing in my spare time, but how can you convince someone who is in heaven each time a new dollar store opens in town, that free stuff just isn’t your thing?

You can’t.

“Brad, they have free stress balls!”

“But I am currently stress free,” I explained, though I doubted that would remain the case if she didn’t soon relent in trying to convince me to partake in this marketing site.

“Brad, you could dye your hair with free hair colouring!”

“I have no hair left,” I countered, indicating my recent haircut.

She was determined to get her way. “But it’s free!”

“I just got paid. I don’t mind actually buying something I need.”

“But it’s fun!” I’ve been sending free stuff to mom, to my cousin, to…” As she continued to list off the recipients of her free samples that was when the solution to my dilemma hit me. It was something I had learned in a previous job; delegation. If there was a job needed to be done and you find someone who really enjoys that job, delegate it to them. I interrupted her list of people.
 
“Since you really think this is fun and you really seem to enjoy it, how about I give you my address and you shop for free stuff for me?”

Her eyes lit up. “What kind of stuff do you want?”

“I’ll leave that to you,” I told her. “Surprise me!”

I could hear her giggle with glee. “Oh, I am so going to make your mailman work!” She laughed.

I smiled. I really don’t think we need worry about the mailman complaining. From what I have been told, I think he is going to appreciate the work.

OK, I'll admit it. Not all free stuff is bad.

7 thoughts on “Thought 136: The Hassle of Free Stuff

  1. “Brad, you could dye your hair with free hair colouring!”

    “I have no hair left,” I countered, indicating my recent haircut.

    She was determined to get her way. “But it’s free!”

    frizz:
    we owe too much. shift down.
    I have all I need in my house.
    do not need to buy more than food,
    I admit…
    and some electricity for my internet connection …

Leave a Reply

