Home

.

I think, if I can make just one person in the world laugh each day, then that’s one person each day that I made laugh in the world.

In the broad scheme of things, as the way the world turns, that may not seem like much of a big deal.

Yet, for that one person laughing, it could mean a world of difference  in whatever they are dealing with that day.

If that one person who I have helped feel better is then inspired to share a smile, lend a helping hand, encourge, befriend, laugh outloud or brighten the lives of those around them, then, in that small, tiny way, the world becomes a better place.

And if those feelings bloom, take root and catch fire from there, spreading from person to person, in spite of difference, opinions, beliefs, traditions, customs, prejudices, barriers, borders and hatreds, it can make a world of difference.

So making one person laugh can make all the difference in the world.

But today, if I can make you laugh, and put a smile on your face, then that means the world to me.

=Brad Locke=      

 

===> More Stories Here!  <===            

123 thoughts on “Thought 140: Why In the World I Write

  1. Totally endorse your views. Spreading smiles begins at a micro level and hopefully it spreads quickly. Appreciate your effort.

    Guess I too would take it up a challenge to make atleast 1 person happy-a-day

  2. …words to live by Brad, and you’re certainly living up to your calling. Keep up the good work.

    Tom

    PS as a “present day” VW Van owner, you’re previous posts are increasing my “grinnage”, usually from ear to ear 🙂

    • Thanks J,
      Some days it is very hard to find a grin with the way things are… So if we can muster up the energy to smile first, that’s a start. And if no one smiles back… there are always mirrors.

  3. “Laughter” as a gift for others as your goal each day? What more could be more priceless? Even just a smile makes a lot of difference to many people. You don’t catch a lot of that in the crowds of which cities are made of, do you, do we?

    As for me, I’ll call your gift a ‘task’ or maybe even a ‘job’ for which your ‘wage’ would be the smile or laughter returned. Another version of my ‘wages’ (jornales) from nature though yours is more fulfilling because it is given to others and what comes back–that’s your ‘wage’.

    Thank you for bringing on these thoughts, Brad! Keep up your wonderful ‘job’!

    • I don’t really set out each day with that goal in mind, but when it happens it makes my own day that little bit better.

      Making people laugh never feels like a job for me, though it often involves work. Sometimes we have to step outside our comfort zone, we have to lower our pride in some cases, we have to take a risks that we won’t be rejected or ridiculed in return… So when I am blessed to see that smile or here that laughter I rather consider it my reward then wages due.

      I am glad you are enjoying my thoughts, I’ll try my best to keep thinking them.

    • Thanks Carol,
      I never really thought as my words as being hopeful and joyful, I sometimes forget the power they can have.

      I am happy we weren’t playing hide and seek, because thats the one time I hate being found. 🙂

    • When you think about it, in a world of 7 billion people, not one of us should ever have to feel alone. So if a single cheerful comment can change that feeling for one person, I say, “Go for it!”

  4. I LOVE your post!
    I feel the same way. I have two blogs. We love to inspire, create a positive non judgmental atmosphere, and be real!

    Congrats on being featured on Freshly Pressed!

    http://www.secretsofmoms.com

    “Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.” ~ Leo F. Buscaglia

    • Thanks Liz.

      I checked out your blog and your Delicious Triple Berry Crisp has inspired my stomach to rumble with dessert cravings.

      Mr Buscaglia seems to have the right idea.

  5. I actually have a new rule for my life as of this year (I used to do this sporadically, now I have a rule. What a buzz kill I am, I know). I am required to say something nice to four strangers every day.

    So, I like your hair, you’re beard is ruggedly handsome, fantastic coat, whatever it is, I make a point to say somethnig nice when I will gain absolutely nothing as a result save for the claim of having made that person feel good. Oddly enough, I get more kind comments from strangers now as well. Interesting side effect. Must be drawing it to me. 🙂

    • Caitlin, I am not very good when it comes to rules, to me they are more like suggestions. But when it comes to strangers, I’ve found that if I go out of my way to talk to or interact with them, I’ll always come away with a story.

      But I just may try your technique… thats a lovely patch of green. 🙂

  6. Thanks Brad, for making me smile at your post. For giving me such a great start to my day. For inspiring me to do something good today. For making me think about going about each and everyday with a smile on my face.
    But most of all, thanks, for brightening up the world a little more.
    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!
    Ashley, aka TheEverydayMuser
    http://www.theeverydaymuser.wordpress.com

    • Wow Ashley, I had no idea anything I could write would ever effect your morning in five different ways. Thanks for sharing that with me. Tomorrow, it is your turn to do that for someone else. 🙂

  7. I totally agree. Create one smile and you may have just changed an attitude from a negative to a positive. And attitude is everything. It separates those who grumble at the rain from those who admire it.

    • And also those that run out in their bikini’s and wash their car in the rain. I had a crazy neighbour once who would do that.

      You are right though Diane, attitude makes all the difference in everything we face. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Putting a smile on someone’s face IS a big deal. The ability to spread joy is a gift. Go for it, and keep at it! Now I know who to go to when I need cheering up. ;o) We need people like you!

    • Thanks Mix,

      I truely believe it is a gift and one I am glad to have been blessed with. Whenever you are feeling the need to be cheered my blog is always open. It’s what I am here for.

  9. Love this!

    I don’t normally shill my work in other people’s blogs, but seriously, if you’re interested, you might enjoy spreading the happiness with smileys, too: http://unclesmiley.wordpress.com/

    But now back to you: This is such a fun concept for a blog! My day job is as a writer, so I especially liked your thought 210; thought 180 is great, too.

    Thanks for the post, Brad! 🙂

  10. This post made me smile 🙂 And I agree with what you say, its a great notion to carry each day. Making someone smile makes you happy too. Now that’s “two for the cost of none”!

    Congratulations on being featured on Freshly Pressed 🙂

  11. Love the post. You make an incredibly valid point. Making someone laugh is probably my favourite thing to do, for the exact same reasons that you outlined in your post.

    Congrats on FP!

  12. Pingback: Thought 140: Why In the World I Write (via Two Hundred and Ten Thoughts) « potamophilosophy

  13. Okay so a horse walks in to a bar and the bartender says,

    ” Hey fella, why the long face?”

    Get it…it’s a horse…long face…

    I crack myself up no problem.

    Hi Brad

  14. this post reminded me of a poem/prayer the kids in my religious school would say on the day they became a Bar/Bat Mitzvah, about making the world a little brighter by doing one small thing to make someone smile or laugh. Thanks for posting and congrats on getting freshly pressed !

  15. Its better to make one person laugh then to make them cry. You never know what will happen tomorrow and you always want to be thought of and rememberd as a kind person who always put a smile on everyones face. I always try to make people around me smile and try to make them feel brighter. I believe that a simple smile can brighten up an entire day and a persons outlook. You never know what that “simple smile back” really means to a person. A simple gesture of making someone smile can make all the difference in the world. 🙂

  16. Something I need to keep reminding myself of. It is easy to get discouraged, but if you bless one person then whatever time put into the writing was worth it. At least that’s what I need to keep telling myself.

    Eden

  17. With the way we Humans have forced the Earth into giant hiccups, what more can we do but laugh, at ourselves, and our absurdity and greed, while so much of the Earth dies at our meddling, and shark drown without fins, and rivers die without trees, and , children, and people starve from insufficiency. There is far too long a list. of all this.
    And we go to football matches, and race cars, horses and yachts, all over the world, and live in theaters watching multi-million dollar paid film stars, tennis players, gamblers at pool tables, new owners driving six and eight cylinder SUV’s and ,…….. etc
    So what can most of us do, but laugh,… at the absurdity, and turn blind eyes to the starving child, stalked by a vulture.

  18. Oh, I love this post! Thank you! You did make me smile today. I even posted your post on facebook…to hopefully make others smile!

  19. Beautiful post and rationale for why you write… people like you and I have the power to inspire and do bigger things from small things by what we do.

  20. Too true Brad, too true! The whole ripples in a pond thing really can be seen in “ponds” of people. You can change the whole mood of a group of people just by your first interaction with them. I have a colleague who “brings the energy”. He walks in and BOOM, laughing, joking, energy and vibe walk in too. Great post coming from a great place! Thanks!

  21. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed. I too subscribe to the theory of laughing. That’s why my blog’s motto is: If you can’t laugh at yourself, laugh at your kids…

  22. Laughter can lighten even the heaviest heart.

    The most wasted of all days is one without laughter. e.e. cummings

  23. Great post. I like to make people laugh at work, especially when we’re having a bad day. And then I realized how crazy our job is and can make fun of it in writing and laugh about it. I guess it let’s the stress out.

  24. i you try to think of it you already helped another person just by making him/her happy you also did another good deed. i know how that feels because i sometimes try to make em laugh to ease the burden they are carrying and i’m proud of it :p by the way your post is great :p

  25. The butterfly effect is a metaphor that encapsulates the concept of sensitive dependence on initial conditions in chaos theory; namely, a small change at one place in a complex system can have large effects elsewhere.

    Maybe if a person laughs in America; it will cause thousands to laugh in China……..

    Just a thought……kekekekekeke

    Good work. Keep it up

  26. I am one of those…If a don’t make someone laugh in my work place..I feel like I haven’t start my day yet!! I am always dancing and saying silly things…it’s cool making people laugh sometimes, especially if it is together!! Saludos desde México!!

  27. Rather unfortunately men with guns, bombs and selfish economics tend to take that one laugh and stomp on its head and kick it in the ba**s, but your aim is noble.

    I personally write because I get a buzz from it, and if anyone else gets a buzz from it, well all the better. I also write because I have, perhaps deluded, ambitions to do it as a living and as I get a buzz from it it sure beats office work. I also write because I’ve some talent at it and it’s good for my ego. I also write… damn I can suddenly think of a million reasons why and am gonna take them away with me!

  28. I’m all for the spreading of joy and laughter. The fact is, I made it my life’s work. When someone said, “Do what you love and you’ll never have to work a day in your life,” it’s really true. Thanks for sharing.

  29. Gosh I’m one of those that waits for everything to fall into place before I make a move aka perfectionist. Really, what I should say is that I USED to be one of those…well, not anymore. As for spreading cheer, that’s fantastic! It’s my unspoken rule in life: spread it and be open to receive it. Congrats on being freshly pressed.

    Feel free to check me out at http://www.miasaysyes.wordpress.com

  30. Reading that definitely made me smile 🙂 Such a simple yet great post of truth. A smile to a stranger can definitely make a difference and being able to make someone smile, or laugh, gives you such good feelings. It’s like endorphins all on its own! Especially after a long day at work! Congrats on being Fresh!

  31. Beautiful post. My mother has terminal cancer, and lots of times it seems like I can’t do much. But then I realize that there is so much I can do to make her life a little easier and enjoyable. Thanks for sharing.

    -Gracie

  32. Your post reminds me of a film I saw a few months ago. Pay It Forward I think it was but anyway I absolutely agree with you and I smiled throughout all that you said. 🙂

  33. Thanks Brad – lovely thought and so simple to put into action. Good luck on the post a day project – I’m sticking to one a week for now, but might get sucked in to daily posting before long! It is addictive, this blogging malarkey. I will return, if only to share VW Camper tips

  34. Sounds like a great plan to me!! You never know what good you are doing and thats the whole point!

  35. Pingback: Tweets that mention Thought 140: Why In the World I Write « Two Hundred and Ten Thoughts -- Topsy.com

  36. Good post. I think all of us, who write, do it do a degree because we know that without our lives will be somewhat empty. There’s something inside you that keeps whispering “write, write, write…” You don’t choose writing, it chooses you.

  37. Agree… if we all think in the same way.. I am sure world will be better place to live. Thanks for sharing wonderful thought.

  38. Pingback: Thought 130: Dramatic Thoughts:The Theatre in my Head « Two Hundred and Ten Thoughts

  39. cause it get off what is on my chest and i am able to manage my feelings and help other people but the main reason becuase i want to

    • Thanks Margaret,
      Let your husband know that having never been made in the mafia I truely wouldn’t know. I do know a lot more people subcribe to what I say, strangers approch me for favours, I do have to consider my words carefully because I never know who may be wiretapp… i mean reading… and just to play it safe I now eat with my back to the door in fine dining establishments.

  40. Pingback: Some jokes « Knotrune

  41. Pingback: How Awards Are Won | The Convoluted Menagerie

Leave a Reply

